Etihad Airways

Etihad is the title national carrier of the United Arab Emirates.

Unlike Emirates, the home port is located in the capital of Abu Dhabi.

The airline was established in 2003 and since then has shown phenomenal growth rates. The company’s passenger turnover is increasing by approximately 20-23% per year. Today, Etihad is Asia’s fourth-largest airline.

The Etihad Airways route network (passenger and cargo) connects more than 120 points, with more than 1000 flights per week. On October 12, 2016, Etihad Airways received 5 stars from SKYTRAX.

  • According to the influential British consulting agency SKYTRAX, specializing in the study of the quality of services provided by various air carriers, the airline was awarded five stars. There are eight such airlines in the world.
  • “Etihad” takes 7th place in the ranking of the safest airlines in the world 2019 by Jacdec.


As of January 26, 2020, there are 109 airliners in the Etihad fleet, another 5 are ordered. The average age of aircraft is 5.9 years.

The oldest – Airbus A320-200, with a tail number – A6-EIC. His age is 15.0 years. The newest is the Boeing 787-10 Dreamliner, with tail number A6-BME. He is 0.0 years old.

An interesting fact is that in 2008 at one of the international air showrooms in the UK, at the Farnborough airfield, Etihad Airlines concluded one of the largest transactions in the history of aviation for the purchase of about 100 aircraft. The deal amounted to about $ 25 billion.

And in November 2013, Etihad broke this record by signing papers for the purchase of 199 aircraft and 294 engines totaling $ 67 billion. Deliveries began in 2018.

  • Airbus A320-200
  • Airbus A321-200
  • Airbus A330-200
  • Airbus A330-300
  • Airbus A380-800
  • Boeing 777-300
  • Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner
Graduated from Embry-Riddle Aviation University with a master's degree in aviation science. He began his career as an aviation researcher in local periodicals. Has a pilot license. Now are the author and developer of the Plane Worlds.